364Days ShezPhoto #3 Concrete, Bare Branch & Rails

This photo was taken on a grey day. I love the interesting shapes and opposing texture of the concrete , the old wooden fence post, the dried grass, the rusty train tracks and the bare tree.

Concrete, Bare Branch and Rails

This was a farming area that has recently been engulfed by industrial manufacturing. It was a cool summer day and my grandson and I had gone hunting for photo-ops. This particular view seemed to bring together so many shapes, textures, new and old, modern and vintage in one place, we stopped for a photo fest.

This was one stood out as one of my favorites.

What do you like or not like about the muted colors, the subject, or the composition?

Thanks for stopping by, I would love to hear from you.

Shez

Tags: , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

3 responses to “364Days ShezPhoto #3 Concrete, Bare Branch & Rails”

  1. xandreverkes says :

    Wow Shez… seems like you had quite a few photo ops right there!!! 🙂 For me there is a bit too much going on?? maybe doing a few shots with a combination of two of these elements at a time – something to bring purpose to the shot… eg. the wooden post & concrete pipe/ looking through the pipe at the bare branches or something similar!!! Do you have more of these shots?? would make an interesting series!!! 🙂

    I can see why you were drawn to this though…. great weather & tones!!! & great photo op!!! 😀 **

    • SL Schildan says :

      Thanks. Strange things do create an interesting photo. My grandson was with me on this photo shoot. It’s just around the corner from our office. I took lots of photos, one of my gs inside the pipe. The pipes are large, about 1 1/2 meters in dia. My mind’s eye saw so many possibilities, that didn’t work out as I envisioned. The Pocket Nikon is great but was not up to the task of my vision. We were also hampered by a cyclone fence and a busy road. It looks like it is out in the middle of nowhere, but it is in an industrial area. It is well worth another trek when the weather warms up a bit this time with my new mini! The sky plays such an important role in photography.

      • xandreverkes says :

        Oi… I know how frustrating it is when you’ve got a picture in your head, but you can’t seem to portray it in your photos!!! Would never have thought it was in an industrial area… fooled me!! 😉 **

What are your thoughts?

