362Days ShezPhoto #4 Sunny Parakeets

                                 Parakeets Wear Citrus Colors

This was taken last February on a cold winter day at the local pet store. They looked so cheerful and sunny. They brightened my day like a bit of sunshine. These beautiful budgies begged to be brought home with me. I was captivated by them and their lovely colors.

A couple of times in my life I had parakeets. I loved them, but I did not like cleaning up the feathers and seed husks that always flew out of the cage. And I did not like them living in a cage, but letting them fly free in the house was not a good option. And now we have cats. It would not be a good time to have parakeets

My first parakeet was a medium-blue fellow. His name was Petey. My sister had a turquoise colored one and I can’t remember the turquoise bird’s name. One day when I got home from school, something was wrong with Petey. I called mom at work. No she insisted Petey was fine.

When my parents got home I showed them Petey. I pointed out there was something wrong with his eyes, they didn’t look right, they were beady. Of course, they reminded me, all parakeets have beady black eyes. No, I insisted this bird’s eyes were too close to the top of his head  and he was afraid of me. This was not my Petey.

After much badgering from me for over a week, my dad finally caved in and told me the truth. He had found Petey dead in the cage one morning. He was upset, dad knew I would be devastated.  He didn’t want me to cry and be sad, so in Super Dad fashion he dashed out and he replaced Petey with a bird he thought was identical. Neither he nor mom figured I’d ever know. I was unhappy with them for trying to trick me and angry that they would think I wouldn’t know the difference.

To some people he was just a blue parakeet. To me he was my friend. You just can’t replace a friend.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

3 responses to “362Days ShezPhoto #4 Sunny Parakeets”

  1. xandreverkes says :

    I did see this photo!!! Like the tones & colour!!! My brother also had his share of parakeets!!! (which at the time, all of us enjoyed!!! ) 🙂 **

    • SL Schildan says :

      This was for the 365Day Photo Project and I had posted it to my other blog. I decided I wanted to keep the photo challenge together without distraction so I added a blog site just for the photo project. You should take on the challenge.

What are your thoughts?

