350Days ShezPhoto #16 Reflections In the Wake of a Duck

A Perfect Reflection Broken by Duck Wake

On January 13, 2012 after getting home from photographing Mt Hood, I took a little walk around the yard. This is one of the photos from that excursion.  The next few days will feature other sights captured that afternoon. As I walked around to the back of the house the trees reflecting in the water were amazing and a perfect mirror image with the pond smooth as glass and the reflection crystal clear. As I got into position  for the photo I wanted, a young female mallard swam over to me. Her gentle paddling made a small wake that cut the reflection into arcs. The tree trunks no longer in straight lines now intersected by the distortion in the water. I felt lucky to capture an altogether unexpected and delightful photo.

This is actually a full color photo, there simply was no color.

PS (Unfortunately, I “typoed” the word duck and we have duke. I need Photoshop to fix, which I do not have PS available here at work.)

Tags: , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

What are your thoughts?

