330Days #36 Crystal Bowl

Cut Crystal Bowl

ABOUT THIS PHOTO

This bowl was captured with the Dynamic Contrast filter applied. I experimented with all the filters, taking six photos of each subject, one with each filter. I found this filter to provide dramatic photos for things like the wine bottles and this large crystal bowl. It did nothing good to people or flowers. Soft focus and pinhole worked well for flower arrangements and people.  Saturated color I did not like for any of the subjects in my trial run but recognize that I did not have the right subject matter for that filter. Black and white is just that: BLACK & WHITE. Gray is virtually eliminated from the photo, but glass reveals so much depth or contrast that it does enhance the item. Converting a photo to gray-scale or black and white with software, does maintain the shades of the item and then it can be manipulated with highlight and saturation adjustments. None of the three photos I have shown have had any software manipulation except to save it for web by reducing the pixels and setting a size.

ANNOUNCING A NEW LOOK for my blog.

As an aside, I was not happy with the way this blog had looked.  I tried different themes for the photo project. The format was good on several, but the ability to change the font or the text color left me with a presentation that was not pleasing to me. I found this theme tucked away which had a nice set up, the ability to change some colors and to insert a custom header. When I saw this photo I knew I had found the pieces to make  my blog my own.

I would really appreciate it if you would comment, good or bad. Criticism is necessary for growth.

Best Regards, Shez

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

5 responses to “330Days #36 Crystal Bowl”

  1. Xandré Verkes says :

    I love it Shez!!! & this photo of the crystal bowl is stunning!!! makes for a very dramatic & beautiful theme image!!! 🙂 **

What are your thoughts?

