323Days #43 Moon Wink

The Clouds Parted and The Moon Winked

It had been a gloomy day, grey skies and drizzle. Just as I left work about 5:30pm I looked up and was amazed to see the clouds parting and the crescent moon winking down from the little clear spot. I grabbed my camera out of my bag and took a very quick shot.

I was using my Olympus PEN PM1 with the 40-150 mm lens, hand-held, so I was extremely excited that the moon showed up and the shot is quite clear. I am loving my little mini. It was set on 1600 film and it was in auto focus, only because I have not yet figured out how to get it into manual focus mode.

No little switch on the lens, though both of the lenses have a manual focus rings, no matter what settings I have chosen, the camera focuses where it wants. That is an annoyance when I am in macro mode, I rarely want the focus in dead center. Maybe I want the bee heading to the flower and not the center of the clover, sigh.  I’m sure there’s a way, but the manual on the disk is not as explicit as I would like.

In comparison with my Canon mounted with the equivalent 300mm lens on a tripod and using a cable release, I have not gotten the moon this clearly. So for this quick “shoot quick” photo I am thrilled.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

What are your thoughts?

