316Days #50 The Piano

Piano Reflected

This was a surprise gift, a special, extraordinary, unexpected surprise. A mastermind of my wonderful husband for a knock my socks off Christmas Present.

The whole surprise thing is an amazing story.

It was about six years ago when I had arranged to take a day off work a few days before Christmas to stay home to bake Christmas cookies and make candy. From the kitchen I heard a big truck go up the street behind our house and I could see it across the pond. I heard it jostling around and the back-up beeper as it turned around in the cul de saq. I continued with hand dipping my chocolates and figured one of our neighbors had something coming. Then the doorbell rang. It’s not uncommon for us to give directions to a lost driver because there are some address number irregularities along our street and some new little streets that are hard to find. I was prepared to explain to him that they had missed the correct driveway and find out where they were trying to be.

With chocolate covered fingers I opened the door to see a moving van in the driveway and the biggest human being I had ever seen standing on my front porch. After a few false starts on finding out who he was looking for he said my address. “Yes,” I answered him,  “that is this house. But there must be some mistake. We don’t have anything coming.”

“Well, are you Shari?”

“uhh, yes,” I stammered.

‘We have a piano to deliver to you. Show us where it goes.”

His partner got out and came in. He was also a giant among men and they proceeded to move furniture. Then they came in with pieces wrapped in heavy quilted protective blankets. In no time at all, there sitting in my living room was a shiny black lacquered grand piano. There I stood, with my chocolate covered hands and overwhelming tears of  emotion streaming down my cheeks. They chatted a bit. I asked if they ever played football, and laughed and said yes.

The smaller of the two had been a linebacker for the Green Bay packers and now that he was retired he was having fun delivering pianos. They appeared to be about 35 years old, they were both from Samoa, with very curly dark hair and delightful accents. The smaller one had to duck slightly to get through our doors, the larger one had to duck a lot.

I took some pictures that day, and with luck they exist somewhere on one of my older computers. Happy, gentle giants that left here laughing at me for my tears and because they were so tickled that they were a part of my complete  surprise.

The real irony here is I never cry, except at parades, weddings, for the National Anthem, and apparently at overwhelming surprises.

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

4 responses to “316Days #50 The Piano”

  1. PhotoLord Contest says :

    Wow, what a cool experience. My wife expressed interest in a piano. She plays and wants our daughter to have the same opportunity with a piano of her own. I should your story as a starting point to surprise her at Chtistmas. 🙂

  2. Xandré Verkes says :

    Lucky lucky lucky!!! 😀 What a wonderful surprise!!! 🙂 **

What are your thoughts?

