287Days #79 Concept Car

The rest of the car.

Earlier in the 366Day challenge, (check it out on 305Days #61) I posted the air intake grill on an Italian concept from the 30’s. I mentioned I love that photo but the overall lines of the car itself I did not like. I wanted to share this photo. I was actually surprised when looking through my photos that I had taken several shots of this car. However considering the great number of shots I took of some of the others I could tell I definitely had two favorites, a Pierce Arrow and a 1937 Mercedes.

One of the things that made this shoot difficult was trying to get a shot without people. It was generally impossible, also there was no avoiding big signs in the background and misplaced furniture which spoiled many shots. I decided to experiment. I turned  four people and two signs into the flames or smoke in the background. It was a fun project. I will be sharing more as I hone my flames skills.

Although it appears that I messed up the front of the car with the flaming, I was able to not touch or alter any part of the vehicle. I told you, in my opinion this car did not have great style. Many very interesting details, but overall a dud, an exquisitely crafted dud, unique but not hot.

Until tomorrow, good shooting.

Cheers,

Shez

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

5 responses to “287Days #79 Concept Car”

  1. Xandré Verkes says :

    Love that you are exploring editing Shez!!! I like the effect that you created!!! Very artsy!!! 😉 **

  2. Nick Mayo says :

    Very interesting concept car! I like what you did with the experimental flames, and thought it was part of the background until I read your description. I would love to see the 37′ Mercedes, being a Mercedes fan myself.

    Looking at this cars front windshield it looks like both doors, windshield and roof open as one? Do you know if Im correct?

    Thanks for posting and sharing 🙂

    • Shez says :

      It is a hardtop, but if memory serves me correctly it was the first car ever built with a curve windshield. This was a car show at the art museum and no flash was allowed. I was so thankful to have my cell phone. It was impossible to shoot around the people and the back drops were not good.

      These autos were so valuable, (pricing on one was 6 million dollars), that only small groups could go in and there was a time limit. The photogs were very careful to not interfere and several at a time would be converged on a car, all carefully and cooperatively working. It was the regular people who simply walked past. (I actually plan to post one such photo it is actually a great oops.)

      Being on a time crunch that day I think I only got maybe a hundred photos. Many good enough to share. 😉 Been thinking about adding a page to Totally Random Shez, just for my car collection. Been obsessed since I was 10.

    • Shez says :

      Thanks for checking it out. 😀

What are your thoughts?

