266Days #100 The Dyeing Party

Easter Eggs

Every year the eggs are a bit different. As the grandkids grow older they try to copy their grandpa’s beautiful egg coloring achieved with egg dye and q-tips. Gone are the days when more eggs were broken being dropped on the table or dropped into the cups of dye than made it safely to the egg basket. These eggs were from last year and you can see one a bit on the smashed side on lower left. This year they were so happy all the eggs were beautiful and not a single one was a casualty. No cups of dye were spilled and no eggs over dyed until they turned that ugly grey/brown. So it was a successful dyeing party. Many photos await processing.

We had a wonderful afternoon and dinner with our family and a very excellent egg hunt in the early evening. After so many cold wet rainy days yesterday was fabulous and the yard dried to the point hiding and hunting eggs outside was a very doable task. Many photos were taken yesterday and they also await processing.

Last night  we finally fell into bed about midnight. During the night I got up to get a drink of water and saw an amazing moon. It was about 4:45am and I tried to get a photo through the kitchen window. Of course that did not work out well. So I retrieved the tripod and in that 5 minutes of setting it up and attaching the camera, the moon had slipped behind the trees. I took the camera upstairs and out onto the balcony and waited for it to reappear. A half hour later I was cold to the bone and had gotten many interesting if not beautiful photos. I will share them in the next couple of days.

And if you guessed those photos also await processing, you have figured me out. My plan for this evening is to work on my book illustration. Also I am determined to be into bed before midnight to make up for the very short night last night. No matter how gorgeous the moon might be tonight, I plan to avoid all windows and keep the covers pulled up over my head.

Cheers,

Shez

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

2 responses to “266Days #100 The Dyeing Party”

  1. Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat says :

    I remember those egg dying days. No kids around now and grandkid is 15. Beautiful egg photos. I love all the beautiful colors.

    • Shez says :

      We were lucky in that our grandkids came in two batches of two. Our oldest graduates from college next month, the youngest turns 6 next week.

What are your thoughts?

