252Days #114 The Man and His Bike

My friend Nick Mayo had commented that the best way to photograph people is to ask. So following his advise I have spent the past ten days walking up to people and asking if I could photograph them. So far the response has always been smiles and “Oh, yes, please do.”  “Thank you so much,” I reply. “Oh that is so cool, thanks for taking my (our) picture. ”

My encounter on Sunday was simply an amazing exchange. A fabulous visit with a great young man on an amazing bicycle. It turns out he was more than animated about someone wanting a photo. He had hand-made the bike himself and it is a beauty. See for yourself.

The Builder is Riding His Fabulous Hand Made Bicycle

The young man who built this amazing bicycle himself.

He was anxious to show me the fenders. He had them custom made and hand hammered in Japan.

Hand Made Custom Bicycle Fender

He pointed out the gorgeous hand made fender he special ordered from some Japanese artisans

I couldn’t help but notice the precision wooden basket he had made for the front.

Hand made wooden bicycle basket

The wood work and the clear finish on this bike basket was flawless

Did you notice the design of the basket and the use of metal to compliment the wood. What about the hand wrapped leather handle bar grips, did you notice them as well?

A very unique bicycle seat seemed to have a package receptacle attached.

From the back the amazing workmanship continues with flawless paint, another gorgeous hand hammered fender and a unique, one of a kind hand-made bicycle.

We ended our visit with him continuing to thank me for taking the photos. He didn’t see them and didn’t ask how to view them, he was reveling in the glory of someone loving his bike enough to ask to take a photo. And thanked me at least a dozen times.

So thanks, Nick for the words of advise. So far it has been amazing way to meet and visit with so many different people from everywhere.

Here’s wishing you a fun day of photographic experiences on Tuesday.

Cheers,

Shez

Tags: , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

5 responses to “252Days #114 The Man and His Bike”

  1. Nick Mayo says :

    Thanks for the shout out Shez!!! 🙂

  2. Xandré Verkes says :

    Awesome cycle!!! I would never be able to do that!! Glad you are enjoying this new experience so much Shez – I’m shy in that division!!! So I’ll leave it up to people like you!! 😉 **

    • Shez says :

      Xandre, I am shy so for me to finally step up and ask and then get so many great responses…it just gets better. This guy was tops. He is so proud of his bike and to have me notice he was uber excited. Worst that can happen is they so no. But so far… it hasn’t yet. (It helps to read your prey, you can pretty well tell if they will be open.)

  3. EarlHarrisPhotography.com says :

    Okay, that does it. Time for me to start asking people if I can take their photo.
    Great post and what a terrific bike!

    • Shez says :

      Thank you, Earl. Yep it was so hard to approach the first folks but with such positive reactions it just keeps getting easier. It’s so much fun to share a couple of minutes with some random people. Let me know how it goes. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

