242Days #124 Power Lines

As I have mentioned before I have an aversion to power lines. I try to shoot around them and if that is not possible I will spend way too much time removing them in Photoshop. But when I saw this scene, I decided to quit fighting them. In this photo they are the star.

A row of high power structures with their power lines artistically draped.

The power lines march, their arms stringing multiple heavy wire to provide power to the masses.

I also felt the gritty, grainy quality of the black and white added to the industrial utility of this photo.

Power derricks are perfectly spaced, the lines symmetrical in the photo

The beauty is in the symmetry of the structures and the power lines.

This is what a similar scene looks like preserved in the color of the evening. I can’t help but like the symmetry of everything. The derricks perfectly aligned marching off into infinity, the perfectly draped power lines traveling hundreds of miles to power cities, towns, villages and homes.

What is your impression of these very non-natural photos? Do you have a favorite in composition? Do you prefer color or black and white? Comments are most welcome.

Cheers,

Shez

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

4 responses to “242Days #124 Power Lines”

  1. Xandré Verkes says :

    Super second shot!!! 🙂 **

  2. Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat says :

    I really like the second shot. Very artistic.

What are your thoughts?

