238Days #128 Fire Hydrant

Recently re-painted Red fire hydrant is peeling revealing it's previous orange paint job

Fire hydrants remind me of little people, dwarfs perhaps.

I am unsure about why and how fire hydrants became a recent obsession of mine to photograph. Those that are with me the most often have been giving me a bad time about the need to get a good photo. Then they began to see the attractions:

  • They are not all the same.
  • They come in different shapes.
  • They come in different colors.
  • The come in different conditions.
  • Some are proud.
  • Some look like rag-a-muffins.

I know a bit about his one. It stands on a busy street corner by the bank in our town. It was orange and the fire hydrants were many different colors depending on when the street was built, they were shades of yellow, oranges and reds. Most were peeling. All were filthy.

About three summers ago a man was hired to clean and paint every fire hydrant. This guy, the fire hydrant not the painter although the painter also may have/has suffered many a drenching of muddy water by passing cars. His, the hydrant not the painter, paint is starting to peel. He looks like he could use a little love and care, I don’t know if the painter also needs love and care, but most of us in the world do. He definitely does not want any more dogs visiting.

My portfolio now contains enough photos of fire hydrants to compose a whole chapter. Just wait until I share them… Haha, just kidding or maybe not…maybe it has become a serious affliction obsession passing interest, only time will tell.

What have you been noticing lately? Any little insignificant thing? Or something major?

Cheers,

Shez

PS Why do I so often forget to add the tags? I don’t know but I notice just as I hit the publish button. Then is not a good time to think about it. Maybe WP could have a little reminder like the little editor. It would annoy those with a perfect memory and no interruptions. Since I have neither of those, it would delight me.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

2 responses to “238Days #128 Fire Hydrant”

  1. SKEdazzles ~ A Lifestyle/Photo/Travel Blog says :

    I like fire hydrants too! I’ve been collecting some images for a future post as well. 🙂

    • Shez says :

      Oh, thank YOU!!! Good to know there is another one out there. It’s ammo for my, “I am NOT crazy,” when accused. lol 😀

What are your thoughts?

