226Days #140 Sunny Colorado Springs

Garden of the Gods

Amazing rock formations are centuries old, carved by nature have with stood rain, snow and winds.

We are in sunny Colorado, only it’s not sunny. It was not sunny last year when we came and took this photo. Everyone accused us of bringing our Oregon rain with us.? The area is under a thunder storm warning today.

Yesterday we had a very turbulent arrival. Not a little turbulence, but the kind where the captain warns no one is unbuckling their seat belt to get up, not even to use the bathroom. We were spared the 60 ,mph winds and the golf ball sized hail? Nor did we get torrential rains. The big storm passed a few miles south of us. On the fringe we had wind, rain, thunder and lightening! Just like on the plane and during the night.

The weather delayed our landing and our drive from Denver was stormy. We arrived at our hotel hungry and tired at 1:00AM. Out for a snack and fell into bed at 2:00AM. Slept late. Went to breakfast at lunch time. And have just hung outAT&T the hotel while the storm blew over.

unny. Th

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

5 responses to “226Days #140 Sunny Colorado Springs”

  1. Shez says :

    My apologies. No matter what I try, once a post has bee published wheb i go to edid can only remove letters and not add a letter or punctuation once the boo-boo has been erased. So until I get back home and to my computer, please accept this missing, repeated, and run-together words. I will not edit and make corrections for a couple of days, unless I actually figure iPad out.

  2. SKEdazzles ~ A Lifestyle/Photo/Travel Blog says :

    That is one precarious position to be in, I think I would have taken that shot very quickly and moved on….you have to remember I’m from California, I know one good jolt and that sucker would topple! đŸ™‚

    • Shez says :

      I talked to a local who was there when a thunder storm unexpectedly rolled through bringing howling wind and rain hit unexpectedly. She said it was terrifying because the rocks were falling everywhere. Weather was perfect there yesterday and I took zillions of photos. I’ll be sharing đŸ˜‰

  3. Xandré Verkes says :

    I have always been fascinated with rocks in such a formation!!! …. how on earth did this happen?? – – – so intriguing!!! đŸ™‚ **

    • Shez says :

      Very strong weather patterns over centuries eroded the soft part of the rocks. It’s a very sunny and beautiful area. The rocks are stunning.

What are your thoughts?

