194Days #172 PDX Airport No.1

Wall art at the Portland International Airport

Seen at the Portland International Airport aka PDX

Is this correctly called a sculpture? It is hanging on the wall at PDX. There are many parts and phases to this installation and I decided to take shots of the pieces rather than the entire wall. They are more interesting when you can see into the crannies.

I really don’t know what they represent or even who designed, made and installed it. I find it reminiscent of underwater sea creatures, but I’m not quite sure why. Maybe they  represent nothing more than someones creations. They appears to be made of some type of paper that the edges have been carefully painted in black.

They are quirky for sure, interesting and in a place where people are going down the escalator balancing baggage heading to the gates. The area is busy and there really is no place to stand and enjoy or ponder the scene, decoration or whatever it is. Most people don’t appear to even notice them. At least that is what I observed when I went back to take photos and stay out of the way of the stream of travelers. Some would see me and turn to see what I was aiming my camera at, and all had a surprised reaction as though they had been past this wall many times and had never noticed.

So here’s fair warning, I will be sharing others in this series.

Cheers,

Shez

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

4 responses to “194Days #172 PDX Airport No.1”

  1. Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat says :

    Interesting. Looks like some sort of sea creature, or a brain. I like it, though.

  2. Xandré Verkes says :

    Hhhmmmmm…. weird?? 🙂 **

  3. Kevin Alexander says :

    Good eye. You framed it very well.

What are your thoughts?

