188Days #178 Yellow Succulent Bells

For reasons unknown to me I decided to make this yellow week. Not for any particular reason except that my photos of yellow are pretty much unrelated  to each other in any sense except color. Does grouping them as yellow sort of  create that relationship?

A giant yellow succulent flower of some kind

The bell-shaped flowers run in diagonal rows on this huge succulent flower head.

These huge flower heads with hundred of diagonal rows of yellow flowers are a great oddity. I missed the beauty entirely until I was up close and zoomed in. The really unfortunate part was I fist saw an amazing specimen on a sunny day and moved in close. The rows were dense and perfectly aligned. It was an awesome composition, except the wind blew and 50 shots later I still had not captured a perfectly clear shot.

Not only were all the flowers in compact diagonal rows their total creation is amazing in its complexity. I note that below the flowers there are tiny green oval shaped leaves, emerging from the leaves a lime green stems with a lime colored cup. Each cup has a tiny red star in the center and two to three yellow bells on long lime stems arise from the red star. Each yellow cup bears a brighter yellow stamen in the center that has three pairs of what look like tiny pinchers and where the fourth pair would be is a shiny lime green bead.

Each head is eight to ten inches in diameter with the flower rows making a mass about 18 to 24 inches long. Below the flower on the same very stem are rows of fleshy long oval leaves that extend to the ground another two feet. It is not a very attractive plant as a whole, the magic is the fabulous detail within the head of the flower.

A few weeks later a hundred miles away I found another large plant of the same flowers. It was a dark overcast day and the flowers were past their prime but at least the wind was not ruining every shot. I hope to re-do this same shot next year with everything in place except the wind.

Some days you win, some days you lose, some days you just need a reason to revisit a beautiful sight. In the mean time, I hope you enjoy this shot at least a little and please, if anyone has a clue what this is please enlighten me.

Cheers,

Shez

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

4 responses to “188Days #178 Yellow Succulent Bells”

  1. pewterbreath says :

    I don’t know what they are, but they’re all over the place in Portland. I always thought they looked slightly alien, in the best sense. Like something out of Doctor Who.

    • Shez says :

      Took the photo in Tualatin and I don’t like them either. I think they are weird and ugly. But they do make a cool photo, just not something I every want in my yard.

  2. Xandré Verkes says :

    Cool, this is a very interesting flower!!! Can’t imagine what the whole plant looks like!!! 🙂 **

    • Shez says :

      It’s really alien looking. I wouldn’t want one in my yard, but up close it is interesting. I did take a couple of photos of the whole plant, I’ll try to remember to send you one. 😉

What are your thoughts?

