187Days #179 Yellow Sculpture

New style hydrant looks like it's wearing a fire fighter helmet.

Funny that they decided to design this hydrant with a fire fighter’s helmet.

Obviously number 1144 is the new kid on the block.  It sports a shiny black water cap. It even wears a fire fighter’s helmet. There’s little patina of character on it yet.

This one was designed by an engineer with a sense of humor. I like that.

And my big deep question to ponder for the day:

Where does the line between function and a thing of beauty merge? I have seen some sculptures displayed on public streets that have less beauty and zero function than this hydrant. Could this functional thing actually possess an aura of sculptural beauty?

Now that you have a deep question to ponder and keep you awake trying to find the answer, I will wish you a great day.

Cheers,

Shez

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

7 responses to “187Days #179 Yellow Sculpture”

  1. Mr Bunny Chow says :

    is something designed to be functional and simple not naturally beautiful?

    • Shez says :

      Perhaps, mostly. But I’m not sure it applies to toilet plungers…

      • Mr Bunny Chow says :

        no i guess not, I was thinking more in line with cars like the original mini looking like that because that’s how everything fitted around what was underneath

      • Shez says :

        Thank you so much for taking time to comment. I really value your input. I think it boils down to a couple of things, not the least of which is are we the creator of said item or the user. Most designers are vested in their work and thus would love the plunger if it was their creation. You made me think about the simple things that surround my daily tasks, someone designed them all. Most are very functional. Some are also attractive. You’ve inspired me to capture photos of the mundane on my desk. Bet most of it could look amazing set up exactly so with the perfect lighting, focus and perspective. Must give that a try!! 😀

      • Mr Bunny Chow says :

        I can’t wait to see what you come up with

  2. Xandré Verkes says :

    Haha… cute!! 😉 **

What are your thoughts?

