181Days #185 Bus Stop Friendships

Two guys become friends at a bus stop.

These two guys often sat and chatted while waiting for the bus. They were both happy and had a ready smile for me.

This was one of the fun street photos I took recently. I had gone to photograph an interesting building that after a couple of years was finally beginning to look like it was a real building. I had watched it from the original excavation of the site through the forms, intricate concrete supports and floors slowly added one by one. As I passed by with my camera one of them asked if it was a good day for photography. Yes, I said it was and I was very interested in the new buildings’ details.

After taking a few dozen shots when I came back by they mentioned they had seen me when I was taking the distance shots and asked if I had gotten any good close-ups. The conversation then went to the surprisingly beautiful sunny and warm day. I started back to the car and on impulse asked if I could take their photo. They warmly agreed, posed, smiled and thanked me.

As I was leaving I asked if how long they had been friends and they told me off and on for several months, they often waited at the same bus stop. The one in the blue shirt thanked me for taking the shot of him and his buddy. He told me his name and said I want you to meet my friend, turned to the man in the red jacket and, “What is your name?” They both laughed as they realized they had often eaten and shared conversation but had never introduced themselves.

When I left them, they were laughing and shaking hands. That is how I met Eugene and Larry.

With that kind of response for asking if I could take their photograph, you will understand why I am finding street photography to be rewarding fun. It makes me smile every time I think of the pleasant exchange.

Cheers,

Shez

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

2 responses to “181Days #185 Bus Stop Friendships”

  1. Xandré Verkes says :

    Such a cute story!!! How often it happens that you speak to people for ages, without even knowing their names!!! Funny funny!!! 🙂 **

What are your thoughts?

