171Days #195 Driftwood Whale

This huge carved whale was carved from a huge piece of driftwood. The whale is about 9 feet long and 3 1/2 feet high,

A second use for driftwood. This one reminded the artist of a whale.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

One response to “171Days #195 Driftwood Whale”

  1. Shez says :

    I can’t believe wordy me just posted a photo and forgot to tell you about it. I met a young sculptor at an art gallery and I was intrigued by the fact that he carves enormous wooden fish and whales out of driftwood. He found this massive piece on the beach. It had been part of a bonfire and the charred blacked and those that are reflecting navy are still part of the shading of this whale. He found it with the head shape, mouth and eye as is. Telling me about his work he was like a little kid. I loved his enthusiasm and his work. The whale was about 9 feet long and 32 inches tall. It was impressive. He also had a huge salmon carved from another piece of driftwood. It also was beautiful, unfortunately my photo was not the quality I would want to showcase his work.

    Cheers,
    Shez

What are your thoughts?

