155Days #211 Fly Away

The heron fishes the lilly pads

He sits and waits, The lily pads make an excellent screen for him and he knows the fish hide there as well.  The fish are in constant motion as they swim about hunting for bugs, one tiny mistake and they are breakfast.

I saw him pluck a three-inch wiggling silver fish out from under a pad and  with one gulp, the fish was gone. As I edged ever closer, the heron grew wary and finally lifted off.

The heron views me and my camera as danger and lifts off to safety.

I took me acting aggressive and a yelling at him for him to lift off. Really, he was in no danger as I seriously would not even consider jumping off the retaining wall into the mud bottomed pond, especially with my camera in hand.

I needed a faster shutter speed but on a cloud covered morning, there was simply not enough light for the speed this guy moves. The audience of ducks are clearly reflected in the water.

Another day another photo. I have not decided exactly what this weeks posts will be about. Tomorrow we will know.

Cheers,

Shez

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

What are your thoughts?

