141Days #225 Black and White Waterlilies

Black and White image of two waterlilies and one reflection

Two waterlilies and one reflection

Converting this photo to black and white enhanced it. In the original photo the sun created strong contrasts, but the eye was drawn away from the subject by two of the lily pads that were bright yellow. The stamens of the waterlily are a bright yellow, color correction worked to create green lily pads, but it also turned the stamens green.

I am sure using lots of layers that could be corrected, but I am not competent in that area yet, and decided there is a lot of charm brought out by the black and white conversion. Since I am a color person, a black and white I really like is rare.

Please tell me what you think. Everyone needs some pointers so we can perfect our craft or in my case, my obsession.

Cheers,

Shez

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

One response to “141Days #225 Black and White Waterlilies”

  1. Xandré Verkes says :

    I like this photograph…. But being a colour person as well…. I can’t help but wonder what the colour one looks like? 🙂 **

What are your thoughts?

