139Days #227 Red Dragonfly

Red bodied dragonfly with clear wings etched with red and black

The striking red body and the clear wings etched in black and red create a stunning large dragonfly.

This dragonfly captured my attention one hot and sunny day. I took many photos, but either the wind would blow or this impatient fellow would land and take off giving me no time to focus. It would fly away as soon as I got close. This photo does not do justice to this amazing bug.

I finally gave up, walked in the house and put my camera away. When I walked back out onto the deck this dragonfly flew up to me. I stretched out my hand and it landed on my finger, stayed for a rather long visit before taking back off to the skies. So it wasn’t me that frightened it, it was my camera.

Cheers and happy shooting,

Shez

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

What are your thoughts?

