130Days #236 Blackberries Part 1

It is such a sad feeling to know I missed posting Thur, Fri and Sat. Well technically as I haven’t gone to bed yet, it is still Saturday to me. A big job at work required more time than I expected and I ended up working a double shift Thursday, ten hours Friday and put in four hours today to get it completed. Tonight this will be a three-part series to catch up to where I should be.

You might remember a post I did this spring of a beautiful blackberry blossom.  I am reposting it today so you can see how it has changed in the past several weeks.

Repeat of a single bloom with many buds in the cluster.

Repeat of a single bloom with many buds in the cluster beginning to swell in anticipation of a bloom.

Here is the original image I shared six or eight weeks ago. There are two main things to note in this photo. First, beside the delicate beauty of the fragile blossom, the many stamens in the center create a fringe around each berry. All the round green buds that are here will become flowers as well and there will be a cluster of berries to pick.

After work today I indulged in some much-needed behind the camera time. and thought it would be a good day to revisit the blackberry plant and see if this blossom had become a berry.

It was very shady today with a slight wind today. So instead of a perfectly clear photo like the one above, these are just a tiny bit of not quite clear, just enough blur to make me think I need to wash my glasses. You might want to just take a really quick glance at these.

Blackberry blossoms are losing their petals and developing hard lime green beaded berries.

Blackberry blossoms are losing their petals and developing hard lime green beaded berries.

The plant flowers and forms clusters until it frosts. The green berries left at the end of each year simply turn brown and dry. Here is the last photo in todays trilogy.

A cluster of hard green blackberries that need a couple of weeks of sun to become sweet black berries.

A cluster of hard green blackberries that need a couple of weeks of sun to become sweet black berries.

 

Friday’s post will follow the ripening of the berries. So many shades of ripe are incredibly beautiful.

Cheers,

Shez

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

What are your thoughts?

