110Days #256 Fall into Fall

Well, I didn’t mean to take Fall into Fall seriously. But yesterday while dashing through the office, just as I silently ran behind my SH he stepped slightly backwards unaware I was zipping behind him and stepped on the toe of my shoe, effectively nailing it to the floor. Since I was already in the act of transferring my weight ahead there was no way to break by fall. I body slammed into the concrete floor. I ended up in a crumpled pile on the floor. My head  and shoulder crashed into a partition, my elbow slid hard enough across the flat that the rug that my elbow did not just get a rug burn, it split open and my hip pile drove hard into the floor. Very hard.

Sweet Hubs was saying, “Where does it hurt.” I answered, “Everywhere.” I needed time to process the damage and analyze what actually hurt.

Later, a trip to urgent care x-rays revealed nothing broken. They cleaned and taped together the elbow, recommended a boot for the foot, acknowledged a huge bruise on my hip (“lucky you didn’t break it)”. As I left I got a promise from the doctor that this morning I would feel hurts I didn’t know I had.

Mismatched shoes

What shoes do I wear to the wedding tomorrow? Not my wedding, my d-i-l’s sister.

The doctor was so right, the worst part was waking up this morning and finding out that everything in my body hurt. My head, my ribs, my hip, my shoulder, my elbow my foot,  I think that’s pretty much all body parts. I learned a lesson: “DO NOT BODY SLAM A CONCRETE FLOOR THA IS COVERED IN THIN COARSE CARPET.”  You will not win.

On the way home from work tonight Sweet Hubs went in to get groceries while I propped my feet up on the dash, slide the seat back and reclined to get a quick nap. It turned out a bit of time to not move and barely breathe. A bit time to heal and some  respite from the aches. I decided a photo with my cell phone to document my boo-boo was needed.

I will not like these shoes with my dress to wear to tomorrow’s festivities. However I will be very happy to be able to attend. It could have been much worse. I am most thankful there are mostly only bruises to heal.

Take care.

Cheers,

Shez

PS. With that I am going to take two more Advil and will gently get into bed. Here’s hoping lots of things heal tonight.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Shez

In a nut-shell (nut-case?): Photographer, illustrator, writer, passionate DIY enthusiast, wife, mother, grandmother. I love learning new things and anything that is creative: sewing upholstery or dresses, painting walls or art, building dolls or walls, cooking and cake decorating, knitting or wiring. By day I am a small manufacturing business owner, operator, partner. I am Totally Random Shez.

7 responses to “110Days #256 Fall into Fall”

  1. Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat says :

    Sorry to hear about your accident. I’m glad nothing was broken. I hope you heal quickly.

  2. Xandré Verkes says :

    That sounds awful Shez!! – Really hope you feel better & that you enjoyed the wedding!!! Get well soon!!! 🙂 **

  3. drawandshoot says :

    Oh no! I hope you heal quickly. Take good care of yourself!

    • Shez says :

      Two days of laying around and I’m on the mend. A lot of housework yesterday also make things better. Exercise you know is the trick 😉

What are your thoughts?

